Anne Sofie von Otter




Grammy award-winning mezzo-soprano Anne Sofie von Otter is one of today’s most recorded artists with an unrivalled discography built across a career spanning more than three decades at the very top of her profession. A lengthy and exclusive relationship with Deutsche Grammophon produced a wealth of acclaimed recordings as well as a collaboration with pop legend Elvis Costello on For the Stars. Her first recording with Naïve Classique, Love Songs, with renowned jazz pianist Brad Mehldau was released in 2010 followed by Grammy-nominated Sogno Barocco with Leonardo García-Alarcón and Cappella Mediterranea, and her double CD, Douce France, received a Grammy Award in 2015 for Best Classical Solo Vocal Album.

Considered the superlative Octavian (Der Rosenkavalier) of her generation, Anne Sofie von Otter appeared in the role at the Royal Opera House Covent Garden, Bayerische Staatsoper, Opéra national de Paris, and at The Metropolitan Opera. She recorded the role for DVD (DG) with Wiener Staatsoper under the late Carlos Kleiber and on CD (EMI) with Bernard Haitink and the Staatskapelle Dresden. Other recorded highlights from her earlier operatic repertoire include Le nozze di Figaro under James Levine, Idomeneo, La clemenza di Tito and Orfeo ed Euridice under Sir John Eliot Gardiner, Handel’s Ariodante and Hercules under Marc Minkowski and Ariadne auf Naxos under the late Giuseppe Sinopoli.


An ever-evolving repertoire has played a key role in sustaining Anne Sofie von Otter’s international reputation as an operatic force. Recent roles have included Leocadia Begbick (Aufstieg und Fall der Stadt Mahagonny) at the Royal Opera House Covent Garden under Marc Wigglesworth, Cornelia (Giulio Cesare) at the Salzburger Festspiele under Giovanni Antonini (available on DVD),  Clytemnestre (Iphigenie en Aulide) in Pierre Audi’s production for Dutch National Opera conducted by Marc Minkowski (available on DVD), Geneviève (Pelléas et Mélisande) under Philippe Jordan for Opéra national de Paris (available on DVD), Countess Geschwitz (Lulu) at The Metropolitan Opera conducted by Fabio Luisi as well as Niklausse in Christoph Marthaler’s production of Les contes d’Hoffmann at Madrid’s Teatro Real. She appeared as Baba the Turk (The Rake’s Progress) and as Jenny (Die Dreigroschenoper) at Theater an der Wien and as Waltraute (Die Götterdämmerung) at both Deutsche Oper Berlin and Wiener Staatsoper under Sir Simon Rattle, and, last season, she created the role of Leonore in the world premiere of Thomas Adès’ The Exterminating Angel at the Salzburger Festspiele.

A busy concert schedule takes Anne Sofie von Otter to all corners of the world while recent guest appearances include the Berliner Philharmoniker (Rattle), the New York Philharmonic (Gilbert), the Boston Symphony Orchestra (Gatti), Washington’s National Symphony Orchestra (Eschenbach), Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra (Minkowski), London Philharmonic Orchestra (Jurowski), and the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra (Oramo). She appeared with Jonas Kaufmann and the Berliner Philharmoniker conducted by the late Claudio Abbado for a televised performance of Das Lied von der Erde on the one hundredth anniversary of Mahler’s death and, last season, she appeared with the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra under Hannu Lintu performing newly commissioned arrangements of Sibelius songs on the 150th anniversary of Sibelius’ birth.

Current season highlights include a US and European tour with trailblazing string quartet, Brooklyn Rider presenting their programme ‘So many things’ while on the opera stage Anne Sofie von Otter appears as Countess Geschwitz under Kent Nagano in Christoph Marthaler’s new production of Lulu for Staastoper Hamburg and as Leonora (The Exterminating Angel) at the Royal Opera House Covent Garden.

Rosendal Chamber Music Festival Performances
Saturday 12th August - 19:00 - The Great Hall


  • Two Songs Op. 91. Tabea Zimmermann, viola; Leif Ove Andsnes, piano
Sunday 13th August - 16:00 - Church



  • Komm lieber Zither, Komm K351
  • Als Luise die Briefe K520
  • Abendempfindung K523
  • An Chloe K524


  • Suite in C Major K399


  • Arianna a Naxos, Hob.XXVIb:2


  • Em sommardag
  • Svanvits sång
  • En ung flckas morgonbetraktelse


  • Romanze aus Rosamunde D.797 (Der Vollmond strahlt)
  • So lasst mich scheinen
  • Die Sterne D.939


  • Rondo in A minor, K511


  • Der Winterabend D.938
  • Waldesnacht D. 708